Raw Choc-Mint Mousse Cake

This is one of those moments where I just want to throw on my onesie, chuck my hair up into a messy pony and dive face first into chocolate. But I don’t want the guilt nor the roller coaster highs and lows that normally follow after a dessert so what’s a girl to do?

Enter this beauty….

Completely raw, completely guilt free and completely yummy!!

Courtesy of my friend Marie, lets bow our heads together and give thanks to this young lady for bringing such joy into our lives…. And then lets eat!

For the crust

1.5 cup almonds (or mix of ur favourite nuts)
1 cup medjool dates pitted
1/4 cup cacao powder
1 tsp vanilla powder
1 pinch salt

For the filling

2.5 cups almond milk (can use rice or oat milk)
3/4 cup melted coconut oil
1/2 cup medjool dates pitted
1/3 cup raw honey or or agave syrup
1 cup cashews soaked 2 hours (optional)
1/2 tsp mint essence
1/2 cup raw cacao powder
2 tsp vanilla powder
2 Tbs agar agar
2 pinches salt

What to do:

Crust

Place dry ingredients in food processor and plend til roughly chopped. Leave processor on and feed through dates. Process til finely chopped. Firmly press into spring form tin and place in fridge to set.

For Filling

Place wet ingredients first then everything else into high speed blender and blend until smooth. Pour filling over crust and place back in fridge to set overnight. When set garnish with mint leaves and cacao nibs if desired.

Can substitute mint essence for orange essence.

Enjoy Pecans! And send me a slice yeah???

20130713-145453.jpg

Comments

  1. Kristine says:

    Looks lovely but it has way, way too much sugar in it for me 😦 Not sure if you realise but agave syrup is 95% sugar and medjool dates have an average of 18gms sugar in EACH one! Could you perhaps modify the recipe to use a coconut/almond flour and coconut oil and use something like stevia or erythritol to sweeten the mousse??

    • Hi Kristine,

      Thanks for your post 🙂

      I’m on a sugar free kick myself at the moment which is no sugar of any kind for 3 weeks to break a little habit I’ve had.

      However I will be allowing fruit back into my diet and raw foods like the above in 2 weeks as its the nasty processed stuff I don’t want to eat. Whilst dates are high in sugar I’m happy to eat the natural kind.

      I can certainly ask my friend for you and see if those alternatives would work – I don’t see why not 🙂 I will come back to you!

Leave a comment